Green Smoothies and Returning to SFL

So if you’ve been following me on twitter, you’ll know that I have been fiercely missing my blender the past few weeks. I got a Black and Decker one for my birthday in April and fried the circuit board by mid June. Not too impressed, especially since my partner lost the receipt, which is needed for the warranty. However, now that I’m back to work and I got paid on Monday, my first purchase after depositing my cheque was a new blender. I had heard and read good things about Oster blenders and found a 1000wt one at Wal-mart for what I thought was a good midpoint, reasonable price. (and I taped my receipt right to the box) Tuesday night I could hardly sleep I was so looking forward to a breakfast smoothie – and it was delicious. However, I wasn’t immediately impressed with the blender because I had to stir it about 5 times to get everything down to the blender. This morning I made another and put my frozen strawberries in the bottom with a banana and my spinach on top. This worked much better and both smoothies so far have been smoother than my Black and Decker smoothies ever were. This makes me excited to try some Kale and see how smooth it will make it. For anyone who hasn’t tried a Green Monster, this is my no fail, go to smoothie recipe.

Strawberry Banana Green Smoothie

1C water (or ice if you want it super cool)

7 or 8 Frozen Strawberries

1 Banana

2 big handfuls of Spinach

Blend until smooth. You can also add cocoa to this for a chocolate kick to your smoothie.

I’ve ordered some Amazing Grass Chocolate Superfood and I can’t wait to add this to my smoothies as well.

Concerning weight loss, while on the SFL program, I hit a bit of a plateau about 5 months in, where I was only losing a half pound or so a week even though I was diligent in sticking to my meal plan. This is about the time that I got my blender and started using it about 4 mornings a week and occasionally to replace a lunch or supper if I wasn’t feeling too hungry. A couple of weeks after I made this switch I was back to losing a couple of pounds a week and felt great, with lots of energy. I’m really looking forward to seeing the results all over again now that I’m back on a smoothie bender.

Also, I start back to Simply for Life TODAY! I have an appointment at 4:30 to get back on track. I don’t even own scales and only weighed myself when I was attending my weekly appointments. Since my little ‘vacation’ from SFL, I’ve really struggled to stay on the plan without the accountability, weekly weigh-ins, and food tracking. Attending bootcamp has helped, and I’m sure it has helped to counteract the few dishes of ice cream and KD I’ve enjoyed. So I don’t think I’ve gained (much) but I’m pretty certain I haven’t lost any more and I know I havent lost the consistent 1-2 lbs per week that I was losing while still attending SFL. I guess we’ll find out!

I’m actually super anxious to find out how I’ve managed on my own and to get on with losing another 10-15 lbs. I’ll update again tonight on how I make out today!

Leave a Reply

