The week of Amazing Breakfasts

I had a weigh in today at Simply for Life and I’m down! Two and a half pounds in the past week. Feeling pretty good about that, especially since I was far from perfect this past week. Aside from those ChedAcorns and drinks on Saturday night, after a super stressful evening on Monday, the mister and I went for a piece of cheesecake at our favorite little coffee and cheesecake shop in town. I indulged in a whole piece of Triple Chocolate Cheesecake and it was divine. I did feel a little sick afterwards, which I knew I would, but at the time it was definitely worth it. One of the hardest things about staying on track is not reverting to the 24 years of traditions and habits – in this case, using comfort food to distract myself from the stress in my life. Other than those couple of big fails, I had a generally good week and I guess it paid off.

Part of my success this week has to be attributed to getting my day started right with some AMAZING breakfasts.

I incorporated Chia seeds into my breakfasts all week and definitely reaped the benefits. Chia seeds have 6x more calcium than milk, 5g of Fibre per serving,3x more iron than spinach, 7x more vitamin c than oranges, 8 x more Omega 3 fatty acids than Salmon, 3 x the antioxidant strength of blueberries, and 15x more magnesium than broccoli! source I’ve been adding a tablespoon to either my green smoothie or oatmeal in the mornings and they blend in tastelessly. All these nutrients turn into so mean health benefits, best of which (for me) is increased energy. I started to notice my extra energy within 2 or 3 days after I started including them in my breakfasts.For anyone looking for a way to add some extra nutrients to their diet, as well as claim some great health benefits, I highly recommend looking these “superseeds”.

I’ve also been enjoying lots of blueberries this week- like in this “green” smoothie with chia seeds, spinach, blueberries and blackberries and a frozen banana.

This seems to have been the week of  really great breakfasts – probably something to do with me being off work and having time to make these great breakfasts. Check out this chocolately bowl of oatmeal, chia seeds, chocolate amazing grass, and almond butter, topped with some Chocolate Almond Milk and Banana.

This week was the first time I tried Almond Milk and I really really enjoyed it – I found it a bit fresher tasting than soy milk.

And just when I needed a switch up from the oatmeal and smoothies, I whipped up an eggwhite omelette, with basil, parsley, thyme, spinach, mushrooms, and some grated cheese. Then I topped it with the most amazing salsa.

The fruity flavors in this are perfect for breakfast time.

I believe in the importance of getting my day started right with a great breakfast which helps keep me on track all day. Plus it gives me the energy to stay on my toes all day. I’m looking forward to seeing how all this energy stands up against my typical work day.

I’ve got another stressful day coming tomorrow, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to power through and stay on track. Stress is my worst enemy.

How do you deal with stress????

One response to “The week of Amazing Breakfasts

  1. I deal with stress by running, practicing yoga, and focusing on my breathing- sounds crazy but it works

Leave a Reply

