If you like Pina Coladas and getting caught in the rain…..

Happy Labour Day everyone! I hope you all enjoyed the long weekend and are ready to get back in the groove tomorrow morning. For me, I was off work all last week, and tomorrow is the start of a new semester at school. Thank-goodness I have another week before I have any students.

Yesterday morning I slept in late since the mister was gracious enough to get up with the puppy and let me get my beauty sleep. When I got up, I was not feeling like having either an omelette or my usual strawberry banana green smoothie. I really wanted oatmeal but on SFL I can only have cereal every other day. I used to prefer my egg days, but since I started throwing in some almond butter, chia seeds, cocoa, and banana, I could eat oatmeal all the time. I’m thinking this fall weather might also have something to do with that. So, I decided to experiment and whip up a green smoothie that was different from what I usually have. I went to work cutting up a fresh pineapple I had picked up the night before. When I think of drinking a pineapple concoction, I immediately think of Pina Coladas, and luckily I had a bit of coconut in my pantry.

Pina Colada Green Smoothie

1C Blue Diamond Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1/4 cup ground coconut

1- 1 1/2 cup of pineapple chunks (I didn’t actually measure)

1 T chia seeds

2 C fresh spinach

1C ice

*after thought – We had some coconut, pineapple, lemon yogurt in the fridge that I bet would have been good to thicken this up a bit. Plain would have worked too.

My Ninja blender went to work and before long I had this beauty:

While some people might not like the texture (the coconut made it a little thick), I thought it was absolutely delish and this recipe will definitely be added to my books.

Before heading the the cottage for the day, we gobbled down a quick meal – mine was kale salad with bbq’d chicken from the night before, my mister had a ginormous cheese and bacon burger – and we were off. I took with us the other half of the pkg of chicken breasts that we hadn’t cooked up, as well as a big bundle of asparagus spears. We had a bit of a pot luck feast for supper at the lake, chicken, steaks, new potatoes, and grilled asparagus spears which I marinated in some balsamic vinegar, maple syrup, soya sauce, and garlic powder. Everything was pretty delicious, although I wasn’t crazy about my asparagus marinade.

This morning I made a big batch of oatmeal, then enjoyed a Kale salad with some Quinoa for lunch. I’ll be eating a lot of kale this week because they only had one bunch of kale at the grocery store and it was gigantic. I was happy my mister was with me or I never would have been able to bag it alone.

I’ll be eating it all week! Any readers have any ideas of how to use it all up other than salads and smoothies?

I had cooked up my quinoa plain, so I added a couple spoonfuls of Mango and Lime Salsa to kick it up a notch. It was sooo good, sweet and spicy.

I’m pretty happy about getting the go-ahead from my nutritionist at SFL to have a few meatless meals now and then. I’m going to try and track how I’m feeling when I forgo the meat and how it affects my digestive system. Just an experiment in response to all the Vegetarian/vegan bloggers out there who say they feel a million times better since being rid of meat. I’m not sure this is ever something I could do, but it might be worth my while to have some meatless days scattered throughout my weeks. I’m planning on trying grilled tofu something this week……

Speaking of tofu, I’ve also got a little something special for dessert tonight.

These baby’s are pretty freaking delicious. I even had my mister try one, and after he said he liked it and had devoured the whole thing, I told him it was tofu. He hasn’t trusted me since. hahaha

Bootcamp also starts up again tomorrow, but I have no idea what work is going to be like or how this little puppy is going to make out all by her lonesome tomorrow, so I might not make it. We’ll see.

Have a great week!!!

2 responses to “If you like Pina Coladas and getting caught in the rain…..

  1. I quit meat in January and have NEVER felt better. My sister also just quit recently, she has colitis..and she has not had a flareup since. She hasn’t even had to take her meds – it’s quite remarkable what a change in diet can do sometimes. It’s definitely not for everybody but I think it does a body good 🙂 Keep up the blogs, I love reading about your progress!

  2. Throw some kale in a stirfry or pasta sauce!!

Leave a Reply

