Meatballs!

Last night I realized at about 4:00 that my Mister was on his way home for the weekend after being gone all week and that I should have something extra yummy cooked up for supper! I was craving some beef, and I thought about picking up a couple of steaks but it was raining out and BBQ’ing in the rain just isn’t that appealing. So I decided to make some meatballs. I have always loved meatballs, but I used to buy the premade frozen kind and just whip up my own sauce. Unfortunately there are 380 mgs of Salt in one serving of the extra lean meatballs which is only 4 teeny meatballs. My nutritionist at SFL has advised me to try to keep it below 300 mgs per serving, so I decided I would have to make my own. First thing I did was call my mom to check out what the family meatball recipe is, and then I made it a little healthier.

Meatballs

(just over) 1 lb of extra lean ground beef

1/3 cup steele cut oats

2 T Worchestershire sauce

½ large onion minced

3 sm cloves garlic minced

1T Red pepper flakes ( I like them with a kick, decrease this if you don’t want them to be too spicy)

1T Parsley

Pepper to taste

1/3 cup liquid egg whites

I used a food processor to mince my onion and garlic, then added all the ingredients together in a bowl. I used my hands to mix it all up so I could feel that the consistency was even. Try not to overwork your meat, either when mixing it or forming your meatballs, as it can lead them to come out a bit tough. Once it was all mixed up I started forming my meatballs and also heated up a skillet with some EVOO.

I made my meatballs a bit bigger thinking they would shrink up more as they cooked, but they didn’t really shrink that much, so next time I will probably make them a bit smaller. I cooked them on the skillet until they were almost cooked the whole way through. I also preheated my oven to 400 degrees. When they were all cooked up I transfered them into a caserole dish.

Now here comes the easy part, in a separate bowl mix together 1/2 bottle of light Grape Jelly (about 3/4 cup) and 1 1/2 cup of Salsa and then pour over the meatballs. Pop it in the oven for approximately 30 minutes, stirring once halfway through.

I served the meatballs with sauteed Kale (without the chicken) for me and a big spinach, tomato, carrot, muchroom salad for my vegetable deprived (due to cooking for himself) mister. A beautiful tall glass of Jost Terra Rosa red wine (my absolute favorite red wine) complemented the meal beautifully.

They were soooooooo good, I was pretty impressed with myself and my Mister LOVED them. They were much better than the store bought pre cooked and prefrozen ones and were definitely worth the extra little bit of work. I don’t eat potato at supper on my SFL plan, but I know that the extra sauce from these meatballs is amazing when drizzeled over mashed or whipped or even a baked potato. yum yum.

This morning I decided to experiment with my omelette by adding some Provencal Pesto that I picked up at the grocery store last night. I mixed it right into my eggwhite mixture before putting it in the frying pan. I then added spinach, tomato, mushrooms, basil, and cheese. It looked pretty delicious as it was cooking up.

But in the end I wasn’t that impressed. I sprinkled a little Smoked Paparika on there too. I read about (can’t remember where) adding it to an omelette to give it the flavour of bacon but at the time, coulding find any such thing as smoked paparika around here. I noticed last night that it has recently showed up on the shelves at the grocery story, but I don’t think I added enough to get the bacon effect. I’ll try this on Monday without the pesto and let you know what I think.

The sun is shining here for the first time in a week so I’m going to take Lola and head outside with the Mister. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

