I’m backkkkkk

Ok so as I mentioned in my last post, I had a bad off week last week. I was lacking motivation, energy, and will  power. I made some bad food choices, failed to track my meals, couldn’t force myself to get to bed at a decent hour, and skipped one session of bootcamp. Obviously my blogging was slacking too. And then when things were starting to get better and I promised I’d post my home internet wouldn’t work!

But I’m feeling like I’m basically back on track and my internet seems to be working. So recipe sharing time! Remember those Cucumbers I was struggling to use up? This is what I did with them….

Peach Cucumber Salsa

3 C diced tomatoes

3 C diced cucumbers

3 C diced peaches

3C diced sweet red peppers

6 jalapenos finely diced

1 1/2 cups finely chopped cilantro

1/2 C lime juice

1/4 C + 1 T Orange Marmalade

Finely chop and dice all ingredients and mix together in a large bowl. Let sit over night then bottle.

This salsa is super tastey but mine turned out a bit watery.  But my family, my mister and I still ate it right up. It had just the right combination of heat and sweet. I was sure I took a picture but it is MIA right now.

I also experimented with some pumpkin overnight oats. Thinking I was going to make it as au natural as possible, I bought a local pumpkin. I failed to consider how much work it is to cut, peel, chop, boil, mash, and puree the pumpkin. I got half of it chopped and peeled and gave up and boiled just the half of it. I boiled mashed and pureed, then added about 3/4 C to 1/3 C Steele cut oats, as well as 1/2 a banana, some vanilla unsweetened almond milk, and some cinnamon. The next morning I was pretty disappointed as it turned out to be pretty bland. The following night I added cloves and brown sugar to the mix and was much more pleased with the turn out but it still wasn’t a keeper. This week I’m going to try canned pumpkin and follow Cook.Vegan.Lover ‘ s pumpkin pie oatmeal recipe. After my pumpkin oats failure, I stuck to a simple – can’t screw it up- breakfast of cottage cheese, ripe peach, chia seeds and a handful of Kashi Go Lean cereal.

This weekend I went to a friend of mine’s beautiful wedding and we had a tastey and simple meal; chicken cutlets, roasted potatoes, and mixed veggies.

 

Followed by a desert of cheesecake with blueberry topping:

This tiny piece of cheesecake, along with the red wine I consumed, made me a very sick girl. My sugar intolerance reared its ugly head and I felt dreadfully sick the whole way home. We still had a great time with some great friends, but it was just the drive home that was ruined. Hopefully I’ll learn sometime and just stat away from the cheesecake.

Well hopefully everyone else’s week was better than mine and the weekend has rejuvenated everyone enough for a good week. I’m feeling a cold coming on but otherwise I feel like it is going to be a good, busy week. Hopefully I’ll be able to make time for a few posts! Stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

