On the mend

So I’m still sick, but this is only day 2 of being in full out sick with a cold mode. I’ve continued to make some good food choices and seem to be staying mostly on track, which is promising because being sick is usually a major deterrent in my motivation and focus and I often resort to eating comfort (read: pasta/ chocolate/ cheese/ sugar) food.  This morning I was running a little late thanks to the Nyquil that knocked me out pretty hard last night, and a puppy who took her sweet time doing her business this morning. I decided Cottage Cheese would tossed with a bit of fruit would be my quickest bet. I quickly chopped up half an apple, put it in a bowl with a tiny bit of water and a drizzle of maple syrup. I nuked it for 40 seconds but it should have gone in for about twice as long to make the apple more mushy. But time was ticking so I drained the water and dumped it all in together. It was cool, sweet, and satisfying.

IMGP0827

Snack time was an orange. I’m usually not a big fan of oranges – so much work, and so sticky and messy. But in my attempt to load up on Vitamin C, I had this baby and went to the bother of making it edible (I hate the white stuff).

IMGP0829

I tried to keep from getting orange juice on my students’ work, but a few sprays went pretty wild.

I have drank about 10 cups of Mint Green Tea today as well. When I first tried this, I wasn’t a fan but it has grown on me and is perfect for soothing my cold.

IMGP0832

For lunch I went meatless, and had a spinach salad, topped with grape tomatoes, mushrooms, 1/2 avocado and a little goat cheese, and some of the Black Bean Quinoa I made on the weekend.

IMGP0830

This quinoa is an SFL recipe that I think is good, but it’s lacking a little something. However, it was great for the way I felt today because I didn’t want anything zesty or spicy which is how I usually like my quinoa.

Quinoa and Black Beans
Ingredients

1 tsp oil
1 onion, chopped
3 cloves minced garlic
3/4 cup uncooked quinoa
1 1/2 cups low sodium vegetable broth
1 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
Salt and pepper to taste
1 cup frozen corn kernels
2 (15 ounce) cans black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Instructions

Heat the oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the onion and garlic, and sauté until lightly browned.
Mix quinoa into the saucepan and cover with vegetable broth. Season with cumin, cayenne pepper, salt, and pepper. Bring the mixture to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes.
Stir frozen corn into the saucepan, and continue to simmer about 5 minutes until heated through. Mix in the black beans and cilantro.

Also note, I did use beef broth instead of vegetable because it was all I had. Hopefully when I make it next time the vegetable broth will give it that little extra something that mine was missing.

Supper was pretty simple tonight. I didn’t have much of an appetite but I wanted to get some veggies in to me and I needed to use up some mushrooms that were on the verge of going bad. So I decided to sauté them with some onions which are great for my cold.

Sweet and Easy Sautéed Mushrooms and Onions

Ingredients

1 large Onion chopped

2 cups + Mushrooms sliced

1 T Oil

1 T Butter (optional)

2 T Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 T Honey

1/2 T Maple Syrup 

Warm up oil and butter in a large skillet. Add chopped onion. Keep stove top heat at medium high throughout. Keep stirring the onion around. Once it is about half way done, add the mushrooms. Drizzle Worcestershire sauce, honey and maple syrup over the mushrooms and onions. Keep stirring until the sauce has reduced and become caramel-ly and the mushrooms are well heated through. Remove from heat and serve immediately.

IMGP0831

 

IMGP0833

IMGP0834

Yes that’s a small salad bowl. My dish washer (filled with all my regular sized bowls) is scrubbing away at this moment. Don’t judge me. 🙂 Plus it was a pretty big heaping of mushrooms and onions.

Hopefully by the end of the day tomorrow I’ll be feeling better. I did end up skipping out on boot camp tonight, but did do a 20 minute home workout. I barely made it through the low intensity 20 minute work out so I’m really glad I listened to my body and didn’t attempt the 1 hr high intensity boot camp tonight.

I’m off to bed for now! Sweet dreams!

Leave a Reply

